Friday, January 28, 2011

Stages of Grief: Stage IV

2.5" X 3.5"
Oil on doubled primed hardboard

I don't know if there is a fruit that exists that is more beautiful than a fig.  They are not widely used in our area of the country, mostly at holiday times, but I know I will be painting more of these beauties.  This was a past challenge on the blog site Paint and Draw Together.

Stage Four of the grieving process is Depression.  After the anger and bargaining stage there is usually a long period of sad reflection.  I believe that the amount of emotional energy that went into the first three stages leaves one depleted and depression sets in.  I have written about dealing with depression in some earlier posts like here, here, and here.  If you are supporting someone who is going through a significant loss try to be patient with them.  This is a normal part of the process, and may take a long time to work through.


  1. I miss summer time...
    Figs are so delicious !
    Nice work one this one.

  2. Thanks Sam! We are getting up to 60 degrees tomorrow! Woo hoo! Can't wait for the warmer weather. It has been a long winter.


Thanks for stopping by. Feel free to leave a comment!